After two crazy weeks in New York at the US Open the sport of tennis will now turn its attention to the Laver Cup in Boston. The tournament is a relatively new concept which was first played in Prague in 2017. Here we explore the event in more detail…


What is the Laver Cup?

The Laver Cup is a team event played over three days between ‘Team Europe’ & ‘Team World’. It is essentially tennis’ answer to golf’s Ryder Cup.


Who plays in the Laver Cup?

The two teams contain six players from Europe & The Rest of the World respectively. Three players are chosen automatically based on their current tour ranking and the other three players are chosen as ‘wildcards’ by the respective captains


Who are the captains for the 2021 Laver Cup?

Team Europe – Bjorn Borg

Team World – John McEnroe


When is the Laver Cup played?

The 2021 Laver Cup will be played from 24th-26th September


Where is the 2021 Laver Cup?

Much like the Ryder Cup, the event rotates between Europe and cities across the rest of the world. The 2021 Laver Cup will be played in Boston, USA.


Who won the last Laver Cup?

The 2020 Laver Cup was cancelled due to the Coronavirus pandemic but Team Europe have won all three editions since the tournament was first introduced in 2017.


Will Roger Federer play in the 2021 Laver Cup?

20-time Grand Slam champion Roger Federer will not be playing in the 2021 Laver Cup due to injury. Team Europe will also be without all-time greats Novak Djokovic & Rafael Nadal, meaning there will be four debutants in the 2021 European line-up.


Who is playing in the 2021 Laver Cup?

Team Europe:

  • Daniil Medvedev (Russia)
  • Stefanos Tsitsipas (Greece)
  • Alexander Zverev (Germany)
  • Andrey Rublev (Russia)
  • Matteo Berrettini (Italy)
  • Casper Ruud (Norway)

Captain: Bjorn Borg

Team World:

  • Felix Auger-Aliassime (Canada)
  • Denis Shapovalov (Canada)
  • Diego Schwartzman (Argentina)
  • Reilly Opelka (USA)
  • John Isner (USA)
  • Nick Kyrgios (Australia)

Captain: John McEnroe